LCGB Forums

The ability to post messages is restricted to LCGB members. Any questions contact us at lcgbadmin@googlemail.com

Spanish Sparks (or lack of)

Technical help for Series one, two and three Lambrettas. Models include the Li, Li Special, TV, SX, GP, Serveta and API/SIL models

Spanish Sparks (or lack of)

Postby Scooterlam » Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:44 pm

I'm new to Spanish stuff and Motoplat is a bit alien to me.

Im hoping get a very general understanding.
its a 80-82 mk4 jet2oo. has a battery tray and a 5 pin regulator so my thinking is ignition side apart its running ac for most the lighting with the battery coming off the reg to run side, brake lights and idicators if they were still fitted. Am I close?
Ignition I have no clue how the Motoplat coil is triggered as theres only one wire to the cdi/coil type thingy. any help on this appreciated.
fly wheel, is the taper the same as a LI/SX italian and are they interchangeable. ( i know the flaws)
are stators same dimensions?

what im hoping to do is fit an Li stator and fly wheel external pickup and dc cdi off the battetry.

awnsers or thoughts on any part appreciated.
Scooterlam

Re: Spanish Sparks (or lack of)

Postby rossclark » Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:36 pm

Assuming you don't have the headset lights I think the diagram you want is on the bottom of P 270 of Sticky's second edition.

Looking at it, if all the wires except the greens are cross connected in the round junction box then it appears the whole lot is DC.

Triggering is points. The wire to your coil should be green via the junction box to the green from the stator whic is connected to the LT coil.

Crank is Li/SX same as Italian. Flywheel extractor thread will be different. I wouldn't have thought you could mix Motoplat flywheel / Italian stator, but if you fit both should be OK. I'm not sure how your Motoplat regulator would react to that either though.
rossclark

Postby Scooterlam » Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:08 pm