LCGB Forums

The ability to post messages is restricted to LCGB members. Any questions contact us at lcgbadmin@googlemail.com

Recognise this noise - NOW WITH VIDEO AND SOUND (page 3)

Technical help for Series one, two and three Lambrettas. Models include the Li, Li Special, TV, SX, GP, Serveta and API/SIL models

Recognise this noise - NOW WITH VIDEO AND SOUND (page 3)

Postby harps2 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:55 am

Hi everybody

Newbie here - just finished building LI 150 with an Engine that had been totally rebuilt by somebody else!

Problem is that when running there is a noise coming from chaincase side as if something was catching - i have checked kickstart shaft (genuine Scootopia) no marks and shimmed correctly and sits on ramp in OK position.
I was wondering if gearbox shimming could be area of concern and if there was anyway I can check before starting to strip down and checking measurements ,. (pulling clutch in makes no difference)

Noise does seem to increase proportionally as you twist throttle but not 100% constant if you can understand that ???

any suggestions or help please before I start to strip her down would be greatly appreciated - THANKS
Last edited by harps2 on Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.
harps2

Re: Anybody recognise this noise

Postby HxPaul » Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:18 am

Your kickstart shaft may be catching on the teeth of the first gear.You say that pulling the clutch lever in makes no difference,does the sound go away once the clutch lever is pulled in and the scooter is put in gear.If so it could be what I suggest.
HxPaul

Postby harps2 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:57 am

Hi - just tried it and yes when gear is engaged with clutch pulled in the noise disappears - can you tell me how to rectify please? thanks you spotted problem straight away !
harps2

Postby harps2 » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:46 pm