LCGB Forums

The ability to post messages is restricted to LCGB members. Any questions contact us at lcgbadmin@googlemail.com

Can't diagnose the problem so don't know what to try and fix

Technical help for Series one, two and three Lambrettas. Models include the Li, Li Special, TV, SX, GP, Serveta and API/SIL models

Can't diagnose the problem so don't know what to try and fix

Postby derbystu » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:48 pm

Hi All - Not sure if this is going in the right section but I've Got a SIL GP200 problem I'm struggling to resolve. It starts and runs ok for 3 or 4 miles then suddenly starts to splutter and won't rev but continues to tickover. I Limp home on slightly more than tickover (max speed about 10 to 15mph) - leave it for about an hour - starts ok and all seems normal again - but after the 3 or 4 mile run the cycle starts all over again.

I have very little mechanical knowledge/skills but on local suppliers advice have so far tried - a new spark plug, a new air filter, a new coil and finally a new carb (replaced the standard Jetex with a similar Scootopia one, which is about the limit of my skill set!) all without success. Not sure what to try next - grateful for any thoughts/suggestions.
Thanks
derbystu

Re: Can't diagnose the problem so don't know what to try and

Postby MickYork » Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:59 pm

check your breather hole in petrol cap is clear...........
MickYork

Postby HxPaul » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:10 pm

If you have 12v ignition,the LT coil may be suspected.These coils seem to run ok when their cold,but start to fail as they get hotter.Changing the stator plate is the way to go.
But as in the post above,check your fuel tank cap first.
HxPaul

Postby derbystu » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:41 pm

Thanks for replies - have tested the fuel tank cap and it seems to be clear, blows through ok. Local supplier suggested stator plate may be the next thing to try - no idea what's involved in changing that, will get Stickys book out again!
derbystu