LCGB Forums

The ability to post messages is restricted to LCGB members. Any questions contact us at lcgbadmin@googlemail.com

Intermittent Ignition fault

Technical help for Series one, two and three Lambrettas. Models include the Li, Li Special, TV, SX, GP, Serveta and API/SIL models

Intermittent Ignition fault

Postby Dee Wright » Tue May 10, 2022 9:43 pm

Evening all, sorry if this has been covered before, but i am still learning about My 1959 early series 2 Li125.
It runs on original ignition, points etc.
Being stubborn i refuse to take the easy route and convert to a 12 v electronic system.
Running well, starts easy, plug is a great tan colour.
Here is the problem, after a decent run of a few miles i will come to a stop and the engine will cut out, no splutter, no misfire, engine just stops.
I have changed the plug and cap, also the HT lead.
After say 20 minutes i will get a spark, with plug out, replace everything and off we go as if nothing has happens.
This is leading me to a HT coil getting hot. Then cooling down, hence the return of a spark.
Is my assumption correct ?
I have a spare coil which i intend to fit, this came off my partners Li150 series 2. I noticed that there are 3 washers on each terminal, 2 look like alloy and one is a small spring washer. What is the correct fitment for the leads, is it above the alloy washers or between. Sorry if this is a numpty question but electrickery is not my best subject.
Cheers Dee
Dee Wright

Re: Intermittent Ignition fault

Postby Warkton Tornado No.1 » Tue May 10, 2022 11:01 pm

Nothing fundamentally wrong with well maintained contact breakers, so I'd advise against change. Remember, they're only 'original' once.

To make the best of points ignition, a non-suppressed cap is best & plug manufacturer is a personal choice. I've experienced too many duff NGK's & have switched back to Champion.